How does auto-file work?

Auto-File_Masthead_Blog__1_.pngWith Hubdoc, document management just happens. When a document is fetched or uploaded to Hubdoc, it gets auto-filed into an automatically created, neatly organized folder. 

How are folders automatically created, and documents auto-filed?

When Hubdoc extracts the key data from a new document, with a new vendor, it will automatically create a folder and auto-file the document within it. The extracted vendor name is used to name the folder. If there are multiple accounts associated with the vendor (a bank with a saving and chequing account for example) Hubdoc will automatically create sub-folders within the primary folder. The next time a document is auto-fetched or uploaded to Hubdoc, and it recognizes the vendor name, it will auto-file the document within the appropriate folder.

Can I merge duplicate folders/vendors?

Yes! Hubdoc allows you to quickly and easily merge up to 10 folders/vendors.

1. Log in to your Hubdoc account

2. Click ‘Accounts’ at the top right of your screen – a new window will appear

3. Select ‘Manual Accounts’ in the ‘Manage Accounts’ tab

4. Pick the vendors you want to merge

5. Click ‘Merge’

6. A new window will appear asking you to select the primary vendor

7. Once you select the primary vendor, and click ‘Merge Vendors’, the files within the secondary folder/vendor will move to the primary folder/vendor, and the secondary folder/vendor will be deleted

Note: It is important to note that once you merge vendors, merged documents will take on the primary vendor name. Merging cannot be undone. 

Screen_Shot_2018-05-09_at_12.25.16_PM.png

Bonus: Hubdoc learns as you merge vendors! If you upload a document and the extracted vendor name is the same as a previously merged vendor, it will automatically change the vendor name to the primary vendor, and auto-file the document within the appropriate folder.

You do not need to re-configure publishing settings after you merge vendors. New documents will take on the configurations of the primary vendor. 

What happens if I’ve already organized documents within custom folders? Will merging vendors move those documents?

No! Documents in custom folders do not move, even in the event of a merge. 
 

Can I delete duplicate or inaccurate folders/vendors?

Yes! Hubdoc allows you to quickly and easily delete up to 50 folders/vendors.

1. Log in to your Hubdoc account

2. Click ‘Accounts’ at the top right of your screen – a new window will appear

3. Select ‘Manual Accounts’ in the ‘Manage Accounts’ tab

4. Pick the vendors you want to delete (it is important to note that the folder must be empty to delete the vendor. If the folder is empty, but Hubdoc is preventing you from deleting the vendor, try emptying the trash)

6. A new window will appear asking to confirm the delete action

Note: It is important to note that deleting vendors cannot be undone. 

Screen_Shot_2018-05-09_at_12.36.32_PM.png

 

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

1 comment
  • THANK YOU!!! This is just what we all needed!

Please sign in to leave a comment.