How Documents Are Organized

When you first create your Hubdoc account, there will be no folders. Once you add your first automated connection or upload a document manually, you will see a "Bills & Statements" (automated connections) or "Uploads" (manual uploads) folder appear. 

Screen_Shot_2018-05-11_at_10.54.28_AM.png

Whether your documents have been automatically fetched or manually uploaded into Hubdoc, documents will be sorted into sub-folders by vendor name. For manually uploaded documents, vendor folders will not appear until documents have successfully gone through our data extraction process.

When Hubdoc extracts the key data from a new document, with a new vendor, it will automatically create a folder and auto-file the document within it. The extracted vendor name is used to name the folder. If there are multiple accounts associated with the vendor (a bank with a saving and chequing account for example) Hubdoc will automatically create sub-folders within the primary folder. The next time a document is auto-fetched or uploaded to Hubdoc, and it recognizes the vendor name, it will auto-file the document within the appropriate folder.

Screen_Shot_2018-05-11_at_11.01.42_AM.png

You can add, rename, delete, and move folders according to your preferred configurations, and these will be saved on a going-forward basis. However, please note that if you are adding an automated connection or uploading documents from a new vendor for the first time, Hubdoc will push these into a "Bills & Statements" or "Uploads" folder. This means that if you have renamed or deleted these folders previously, new ones will be created.

Note: Deleting folders does not delete the connection or the vendor from your list of automated and manual accounts. To delete vendors, or merge duplicate vendors please see the article: How Does Auto-File Work?

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

1 comment
  • Is there a setting to not create new folders for uploads. I am looking to have all of the new uploads go into the uploads folder without nesting in a new folder.

Please sign in to leave a comment.